A member of the Federation of Australian State and Territory Day Associations and the British and Commonwealth Societies Association. Patron in Chief: Sir James Gobbo AC CVO KStJ QC.


Victoria Day - 1 July

We celebrate the Anniversary of the Separation of Victoria and New South Wales which occurred on 1 July 1851.  On that day, Victoria achieved not only its separate geographic boundaries, but also Responsible Government with the formation of the Victorian Parliament.  Other Victorian institutions included the Supreme Court and the Public Service also commenced on this important day.

Victoria's Anniversary - Flag Raising and Award Ceremony

Traditionally on the 1st day of July, at 10:30 a.m., there will be the Victorian flag raising ceremony and the re-enactment of Governor La Trobe's reading of the proclamation at the Melbourne Town Hall. At 11:00 a.m. the Victoria Day Awards will be presented by the Governor of Victoria, in the Lower Town Hall. Refreshments will be served in the Portico Room. Attendance at the flag raising is free. The Award Ceremony and Reception will be at a nominal cost (details to be confirmed).

Separation Proclamation - November

15 November sees us celebrate the day that the proclamation of Victoria's separation from New South Wales arrived from London. A function commemorating this important day will be held at the Separation Tree in the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne. Further details will be provided closer to the date via a Press Release.